Organization and Leadership

Types of Committees

There are six types of Committees in the Texas State Legislature:

  1. Standing: Peramanent--existing from one regular session to the next
  2. Substantive: Work on legislation, rather than process (rules), calendars, or administration
  3. Procedural: Work on the chamber process (rules), calendars or administration
  4. Special (aka Ad Hoc): Temporary
  5. Interim: Work between regular sessions
  6. Conference (aka Joint): Comprised of members from the house and senate