Caveman Tag

Caveman Tag


4 Foam noodles, 15 hula hoops


The 4 cavemen must tag as many dinosaurs before time runs out for every round.

Each caveman will practice a different locomotor skill by the color club (noodle) they are holding.

Caveman 1 will have a red club = run Caveman 2 will have a green club = skip

Caveman 3 will have an orange club = power walk

Caveman 4 will have a blue club = gallop

Dinosaurs will travel any way the teacher chooses. Example: walking, jumping, skipping, running, etc.

When dinosaurs are tagged, they must find the closest cave and perform the exercise for that round, before returning to play. Example: Dinosaurs must practice 10 jumping jacks, line jumps front to back or left to right, toe touches, etc.

Each round should last 1 to 3 minutes, depending on the age level and what locomotor skills are being practiced. After the round ends, cavemen will have 4 seconds to trade with a student who looks ready.

At the beginning of each new round, trade up the locomotor skills to keep it interesting.

**Note that you can also use gator skin balls or different color noodles for the cavemen. Add additional cavemen, for a more dynamic experience.

Video Link: 

ND Physical Education Standards

Standard 1: Demonstrates competency in a variety of motor skills and movement patterns

  • S1.E1 Hopping, galloping, running, sliding, skipping, leaping
  • S1.E2 Jogging, running

Standard 2: Applies knowledge of concepts, principles, strategies and tactics related to movement and performance.

  • S2.E1 Space
  • S2.E2 Pathways, shapes, levels
  • S2.E3 Speed, direction, force

Standard 3: Demonstrates the knowledge and skills to achieve and maintain a health-enhancing level of physical activity and fitness.

  • S3.E2 Engages in physical activity
  • S3.E3 Fitness knowledge

Standard 4: Exhibits responsible personal and social behavior that respects self and others

  • S4.E1 and S4.E2 Personal responsibility
  • S4.E3 Accepting feedback
  • S4.E4 Working with others
  • S4.E5 Rules & etiquette
  • S4.E6 Safety

Standard 5: Recognizes the value of physical activity for health, enjoyment, challenge, self-expression and/or social interaction.

  • S5.E2 Challenge
  • S5.E3 Self-expression & enjoyment


North Dakota Physical Education Standards- 2015

Return to top