Working with refugees?

by Katie Zaniboni 7 years, 2 months ago

Does anyone in this group have experience working with refugees?  I am a volunteer teacher in a refugee camp in Sofia, Bulgaria and I just created a group called "Refugee Education" to help create a community of volunteer teachers like myself.  I've already added a few of your resources to our group because we offer English classes for the adults as well as for the children. 

Thank you for all your contributions to this platform!

David Rosen 7 years, 2 months ago

Katie,

If the refugees learning English that you work with are high beginners or at higher levels -- and if they have access to the Internet by computer or portable digital devices such as tablets or smartphones -- USALearns may be a useful (free) online curriculum.

You could also post your question to the adult English language Learning -- or other communities of practice on LINCS. To register, go to http://www.lincs.ed.gov. These groups are usually quite active and responsonsive to questions like yours. Also, on LINCS you will find the (free) English Pro Professional development modules that might be of interest to your volunteer teachers group.

On my Media Library of Teaching Skills (MLoTS) website, http://www.mlots.org you will find many links to free, usually short, ESL/ESOL professional development videos. Some of these my colleague and I made, but there are many more, including videos for volunteers, in this section. You will also find lots of free ESL/ESOL websites in The Literacy List on this page.

David J. Rosen

Katie Zaniboni 7 years, 2 months ago